Posted on

Epilogue

The next morning, one Hamish Hamilton sat down at his favourite spot on Loch McCarrup and cast his line into the inky blackness.

Hamish was not, in truth, a Fisherman – he just liked the taste of them – thus he was using a 30-pound test line. Once he hooked one of the loch’s peat-infused piscine inhabitants, he had no intention of losing it.

And on this particular morning, his luck appeared to be in. The yank on the line told him he would shortly be enjoying fresh fish for breakfast.

He wound the beastie in, knocked it on the head with his mallet, popped it in a plastic bag and headed back to his crofter’s cottage.

Once there, he selected a large knife from the kitchen canteen and slit his prize open. As usual, all manner of slimy junk – partially-digested smaller fish and a variety of pebbles – slid out into the sink.

But his attention was caught by one oddly-shaped pebble. Instead of being round, it had regular corners – with facets. And it was gold in colour.

Hamish put it in his pocket and returned his attention to the task in hand – preparing his breakfast.

He decided he would examine his find more closely after he had had a wee nap…

© Max Wellhouse 2012    all characters and situations entirely fictitious
10 responses to “Epilogue

  1. HELL of a good read! FIVE stars man.

    • Thanks! I rarely tackle fiction (it’s TOUGH!) and put a LOT into this – not to mention the RESEARCH. But I conceived the part concerning the Hitler family (a hotbed of abuse, with the mother being terrified of the brutal father) BEFORE I DID said research.

      Thus what I discovered AMAZED me. That picture really IS of Hitler’s Dad – who LOOKS like that? No wonder Adolf turned out bad!

  2. Cyrus Iznibz ⋅

    My dear ole pal (Max Time Traveller incarnation) after this brilliant creation, I hardly dare make a Comment. Mister LeClerc is correct. HELLUVAGOOD and FIVEOFEM. I will get to you on the back channel.

    • Ta! It goes to show how hard it must be to make a LIVING at writing (“Writing is the only profession where no-one considers you ridiculous if you earn no money” – Jules Renard). I mean, just this short story (about 25-30 pages-worth, in a conventional book) was a distillation of ideas I’ve had, dating back YEARS – and its final execution (including fine-tuning) took me a WEEK. Writers expect to take a YEAR with a decent novel – Hailey took TWO, thanks to the research his efforts needed. That’s a LOT of work!

      And now that few read, the outlets for new writers get smaller. The best thing any new writer can do is ESCHEW the financial rewards, get a day job (or in my case, retire) and publish their work ONLINE. It has the added advantage that they can MODIFY their work after completion (no work of art is ever truly finished) – which is impossible with the printed form. And now more people have iPhones, Blackberries and the like, publishing fiction as “blogs” may JUST be the way forward.

      There are a hell of a lot of good writers out there (check around WordPress) who will NEVER be published in the traditional manner. So, budding writers – do as I have done. GO for it!

  3. Jim ⋅

    A great story, like a Twilight Zone.

  4. Tom

    Excellent story fabulous read and I could easily see this as a very good film.

    Thanks

  5. brian crowe ⋅

    I’m not a big reader but once I started this I couldn’t stop. I thought it was brilliant and I’m glad I read it. Good fiction, good mind.

    Thanks.

    Brian

    • Thanks. I wish I could come up with a story every week, but fiction (?!) is TOUGH. They say everyone has a book in them – well, as far as fiction is concerned that may be true – or in my case, two long short stories and a handful of short ones. And at 64, my well is now EMPTY!

Please leave a comment!

